Why This Blog With These Guys?

Over the last 26 years, the Lord has given me much grace in my life. I was born and raised in the middle of the Bible Belt to a family who never missed church. As a fourth grader, the Lord called me to himself. I believed and repented. Over the next 10 years or so, the Lord would work within my soul a deep desire to devote my life to full time ministry. Prior to graduating high school, the biggest step of faith I took in this direction was applying to Union University to major in Christian Studies.

As I pulled up to Union on that sweltering day in August of 2004 as a scared freshman, if I had known what the Lord would do over the next four years, I would have turned and headed back to ‘Bama. The Union campus was my wilderness, my belly of the whale, my exile. The Lord used that place to draw me to himself and send me out to the world (quite literally!). I’m sure, over time, this blog will speak to much of what God did in that time of my life. For the sake of this post, though, I’ll speak to two of the greatest things I gained at Union.

The truth is those things aren’t things. They’re brothers I hadn’t previously had. God, in his goodness, gave to me 2 guys who he would use to convict me, sharpen me, and encourage me. Those 2, of course, are my fellow bloggers here: Carter and Shane.

For the sake of your desire to actually read this, I’ll wrap it up. Individually, we’ve all been called to pastoral ministry. Collectively, we’ve spent hours in conversations about what that looks like. One night, laying in bed, I decided I wanted these conversations written down. I sent them an email, and they wanted the same thing. So, here we are: three guys discussing what it looks like to be pastors. We don’t claim to have all the answers. We don’t claim that our posts aren’t fallible. We’re just thinking out loud about what God has called us to do.

We’re glad you’re here reading our thoughts. Talk to us. Give us your thoughts. Help us as we seek to shepherd the flocks the Lord will one day give to our charge.

About Nate

Christ-follower. Missions Associate. Seminarian. Uncle. Alabama Fan. View all posts by Nate

3 responses to “Why This Blog With These Guys?

Leave a Reply

