Sparks from the Tongue: Words Matter

In the past few days I have had 5 blog ideas, all of which were reactions and none of which were well thought out. Some of them could have gotten me in trouble. By the grace of God, none of them were typed out. What has come from those thoughts though, is the reminder that words matter. Read what James says in 3:1-12. It’s shocking.

The most shocking and uncomfortable verse for me and in light of our goal with this blog is 1. “Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness.” As one who’s mouth is constantly a stumbling block, that’s disturbing, if not damning. Below I want you to think with me about just two areas in which our words matter most.

The Gospel: Without words, there is no gospel. God Almighty has revealed himself to us in his Word. The Word became flesh and dwelt among us. The gospel is articulated in words. (Dr. Mohler’s sermon from T4G on this). People will not, and I submit cannot, come to salvation without words. Speak the gospel, and do it well.

Leading the Flock: When you get up behind the pulpit, what you say matters. When you talk to your people in the hallways of your church’s meeting place, what you say matters. When you weep and mourn as your people traverse through the valley of the shadow of death, your words matter. The way you respond to your wife, kids, brother pastors, friends, acquaintances, strangers, and enemies matter. You will be judged with greater strictness, and words matter.

There are countless other areas in which our words matter, but those two haunt me. If you’re calling is to the ministry, I hope they haunt you. I hope you think about your words and the way you articulate the gospel, doctrine, and every conversation that bounces off your tongue. For the record, I’m not writing from a viewpoint that says, “I’ve got this down.” I”m writing from a viewpoint that sees the blazing fires my tongue has sparked. So pray with me, brothers and sisters, that our tongues would speak the truth and grace of our Lord Jesus Christ and not spew the fiery darts of Satan.

About Nate

Christ-follower. Missions Associate. Seminarian. Uncle. Alabama Fan. View all posts by Nate

3 responses to “Sparks from the Tongue: Words Matter

Leave a Reply

